## **Russell Group Universities**

The Russell Group is an association of 24 British public research universities.

The Russell Group was formed in 1994 by 17 British research universities -Birmingham, Bristol, Cambridge, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Imperial College London, Leeds, Liverpool, London School of Economics, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Oxford, Sheffield, Southampton, University College London and Warwick. In 1998 Cardiff University and King's College London joined the group. In March 2001 the Russell Group decided against selecting a preferred option for the future funding of higher education, stating that endowments, a graduate contribution, increased public funding and top-up fees should all remain options. In December 2005 it was announced that the Russell Group would be appointing its first full-time director-general as a result of a planned expansion of its operations, including commissioning and conducting its own policy research. In November 2006 Queen's University Belfast was admitted as the twentieth member of the group. In the same month Dr Wendy Piatt, the then deputy director in the Prime Minister's strategy unit, was announced as the group's new Director General and Chief Executive.

In March 2012 it was announced that four universities - Durham, Exeter, Queen Mary, University of London; and York - would become members of the Russell Group in August of the same year. All of the new members had previously been members of the 1994 Group of British universities.

In January 2013 it was announced that the Russell Group would establish an academic board to advise the British exams watchdog Ofqual on the content of A levels.

http://www.russellgroup.ac.uk/home/

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/table/2013/jun/03/university-leaguetable-2014

http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/league-tables/rankings

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/public/gug/